Strange instructions on a bandit?

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
13rebel

Strange instructions on a bandit?

Post by 13rebel »

Regarding the thread of 'Unusual 1920s Mills machine',in Q and A, gameswat posted photos of two bandits on July 7th 2019 11.10am. On the right hand photo the card on the left reads thus; 'Totalisator. Insert coin in slot and pull handle.Press first control to set wheels revolving'. How would pressing the control/skill stop make this happen then revert to being a skill stop? I can't see any way the kicker, fingers, clock etc would be put on hold until this is pressed. Apart from this, what would be the point of having this arrangement? !PUZZLED!
13rebel

Re: Strange instructions on a bandit?

Post by 13rebel »

Lots of views but no replies to this. I am not a bandit expert but am intrigued by this wording and keen to learn. Could the bandit experts please have a stab at a few guesses as to what it's all about. Thanks.
gameswat

Post by gameswat »

Rebel, I think it would likely just be some kind of armature stopping the fan blade, which is activated via the #1 button, then it won't reactivate until the next arm pull. The skill stop would then work as a stop. Not sure what law would have made this operation needed though?
gameswat

Post by gameswat »

Rebel, I guess there might have been wording in the specific laws for club machines that the arm pull constituted gambling, so to get around that necessitated coming up with the secondary button to start the machine running? Of course the arm was very hard to remove since all that leverage provided by the user is needed to reset the mech.
13rebel

Post by 13rebel »