Help buying Hi Top

American, British, French or German? We want to know about it.
jedny

Help buying Hi Top

Post by jedny »

Hi all,
I'm a total novice and I'm wanting to buy my first machine, but can't seem to find anywhere to see or purchase one apart from Henry powell and eBay :!?!:
I'm looking for a Mills or a Jennings, but being a newbie I'm concerned about paying over the odds as I don't really know how much to pay. I'm not looking to restore and would like the finished article if possible.
Thanks for any replies !THUMBS!
bandito

Re: Please help

Post by bandito »

Hi there, the price you can expect to pay will vary by which model of machine you are looking to purchase and not just the manufacturer. Is there a certain model you have a preference for?
jedny

Post by jedny »

Hi All
I'm looking for a Mills High Top but would rather have one with jackpot and if poss one that is in good shape and has the dagger arm etc. or the Jennings Governor, again in good nick. Is there anywhere online that I can see or purchase one, as travelling to see one is difficult due to work commitments and I also live in the "sticks" so to speak.

Thx.
badpenny
Forum Moderator

Post by badpenny »

Hi jedny and welcome to the site. If you tell us where you are and how far you're prepared to travel we may be able to make some suggestions or fellow collectors within your area may contact you with offers or suggestions.

Most of us don't like agreeing to buying without seeing first so the Coventry auction is always a prime source (but I would say that wouldn't I?)

I returned last night from a 500 mile return trip to pick up 2 machines that I particularly desired. You need to build up your network of trusted and helpful friends within the hobby. It won't take long. Good luck. :cool:
jedny

Post by jedny »

Thanks for the speedy reply.
I live in Cumbria so a tad isolated as far as travelling is concerned. I've seen a few on eBay but carriage always seems to be an issue.
coppinpr