Restoration of Mills high top, and Mills Jewel Bell

Somebody knows... Maybe you?
pominoz

Restoration of Mills high top, and Mills Jewel Bell

Post by pominoz »

Hiya All,

As a total novice to this wonderful hobby, I've recently got myself two lovely one arm bandits that I would like to restore to their former glory, so, I wondered if I could post a few questions for you great people to maybe help me with some or all of the answers.

I would like to know the following: I am led to believe the Jewel Bell is a 1947, and the Hightop a circa 50s/60s, so, would it be possible for me to pin down the exact date of the High Top? Any markings or serial number I could search for?

Also, as for the restoration, am I right in thinking the handles are chrome, but the metalwork on the fronts appear to be something else? Obviously, most of you will know exactly what the metals are. I would like to know all the correct steps I should take in the restoration of the metals, and what are my options on attempting to bring all of the metal and chromed pieces back to their former glory?

I appreciate any advice you guys could give me, as I am planning on giving myself well over a year to complete this project. The mechs appear to be working fine and seem to run nice and smooth, but I am comfortable stripping down the mechs and cleaning them with the help of my Mills Owners manual and other info I have obtained lately. Also, eventually, cosmetically I would like to have these two treasures painted and looking as close to original as I can get them.